Belgian National ESO Committee



One of the tasks of Belgian Science Policy (BELSPO) is to support six intergovernmental research organisations in Europe. One of those is the European Southern Observatory (ESO)

ESO is an intergovernmental organisation, at present with the following member countries: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. ESO was founded in 1962 to "establish and operate an astronomical observatory in the southern hemisphere, equipped with powerful instruments, with the aim of furthering and organising collaboration in astronomy". While the ESO Headquarters are situated in Europe, the observing facilities are located in Chile in South America.

All the research units of the Belgian universities and scientific institutions active in astronomy and astrophysics are represented in the Belgian National ESO Committee (BNEC) which acts as an information and coordination point in order to optimise the Belgian participation in the ESO activities.

At present this web-site is used to disseminate information regarding the Guaranteed Time Observations Belgium receives in exchange for contributing to the fourth auxiliary telescope (AT) of the VLTI (Very Large Telescope Interferometer).

Call for Proposals for ESO Period 94

Belgian PIs are now invited to submit proposals for Guaranteed Time Observations on the VLT Interferometric Sub-Array (VISA).

Deadline for submission is Tuesday 7 January 2014 (12h noon) .

Proposal forms and other info can be downloaded in the downloading area. Use the link from the menu at the left.